Distracted Driving

It Can Wait

Vermont’s hands free cell phone and texting laws have been in effect since October 2014, and ban all drivers from using hand held cell phones, pagers, PDAs, laptops, games or portable handheld devises while driving. Drivers are not allowed to talk on a cell phone unless using a hands-free device, nor read, write or send text messages, email, or use the Internet while operating a motor vehicle on a Vermont roadway.

The GHSP also partners with the Associated General Contractors of Vermont, the Vermont Youth Safety Council, as well as the Vermont Highway Safety Alliance (VHSA), to promote safe driving habits around handheld electronic devises with many outreach & community events year round. This outreach includes programs such as the Associated General Contractors of Vermont's "Project Road Safe", and the Youth Safety Council of Vermont's, "Turn Off Texting" program.

More information can be found at http://www.distraction.gov/.

 

Our Efforts to Increase Distracted Driving Awareness.

Attitude Survey -  The Vermont GHSP annually conducts a driver attitude survey. This is done to acquire attitudes of drivers behind the wheel about various subjects including: enforcement of the laws, seat belt use, texting and driving, child car seat use, and general personal behavior of Vermont drivers.

 

 

Vermont’s Handheld Device & Texting Law Highlights

23 V.S.A. § 1099        “Texting Prohibited”

  • As used in this section, "texting" means the reading or the manual composing or sending of electronic communications, including text messages, instant messages, or e-mails, using a portable electronic device as defined in subdivision 4(82) of this title.
  • A person shall not engage in texting while operating a moving motor vehicle in a place open temporarily or permanently to public or general circulation of vehicles.
  • In addition, a person shall not engage in texting while operating a motor vehicle on a public highway in Vermont, including while the vehicle is stationary, unless otherwise provided under this section.
  • Drivers caught using a hand-held device will be fined a penalty of not less than $100.00 and not more than $200.00 for a first violation, and of not less than $250.00 and not more than $500.00 for a second or subsequent violation within any two-year period.
     

23 V.S.A. § 1095b       “Handheld Use of Electronic Devises”

  • Defined, "hands-free use" means the use of a portable electronic device without use of either hand by employing an internal feature of, or an attachment to, the device.
  • Use of handheld portable electronic device prohibited.
  • A person shall not use a portable electronic device while operating a moving motor vehicle in a place open temporarily or permanently to public or general circulation of vehicles.
  • A person shall not use a portable electronic device while operating a motor vehicle on a public highway in Vermont, including while the vehicle is stationary.
  • Drivers caught using a hand-held device will be fined a penalty of not less than $100.00 and not more than $200.00 for a first violation, and of not less than $250.00 and not more than $500.00 for a second or subsequent violation within any two-year period, and assessed points.
     

For more information, Vermont’s cell phone and texting laws can be found at,

23 V.S.A. § 1095a          JUNIOR OPERATOR USE OF PORTABLE ELECTRONIC DEVICES

23 V.S.A. § 1095b         HANDHELD USE OF PORTABLE ELECTRONIC DEVICE PROHIBITED

23 V.S.A. § 1099           TEXTING PROHIBITED

Remember, Law Enforcement officers in Vermont are trained to be looking for Distracted Driving behaviors, but they will also be on the lookout for seat belt law violators, impaired, aggressive and speeding drivers who - by the very nature of their risk-taking behavior - are more likely to Text and Drive.

 

Additional Recourses

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)

Texting Awareness

Distraction.Gov

Distracted Driving Resource Guide

 

Contact Information

Vermont Governor's Highway Safety Program
Agency of Transportation
One National Life Drive, Montpelier, VT 05633
Phone: 802-828-5752
Fax: 802-828-5629

Click it or Ticket

Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over

Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over

Distraction.gov

Distraction.gov